BDJ Box: May 2015

Another month, another BDJ Box. I think I may have deleted the email that said they were shipping this box out already, so I was pleasantly surprise when the Xend delivery guy texted “Mam nadeliver n po.” I’ve been trying very hard to curb my spending on beauty items because I have so many unopened bottles, jars, tubes, and palettes already. Recently I had to dump all the stuff in one drawer into another to make room for all my purchases. It’s getting a little cray up in here.

01

This is the second BDJ box I’ve received. The April 2015 box didn’t quite live up to my expectations, but it was probably because I set them too high. And there were one too many goat milk products.

Goats are creepy.

02

The theme of this box is “Kiss Dry Goodbye.” Basically it’s BDJ’s end-of-summer box. “These past weeks of summer have brought us bright, sunshiny days, but the dryness and the heat have wrecked their havoc on our hair and skin. As we bid goodbye to the hot weather, let’s put back the focus on what we really need—moisture.”

03

Wow! Not having received any notification or indication of what be in this month’s box, I was really surprised by what the contents. Right off the bat, I knew I was going to like this box more than the last one. I see toothpaste I used and enjoyed, cream, cleansing wipes, makeup, and full-sized products. Gettin’ better, BDJ. Gettin’ better.

I’ll follow the order on the description card. Get excited!

04

1. Colgate Optic White Plus Shine. 100g / P115.

Toothpaste! I wonder what the other people who got this box are thinking. Are they going “WTF, toothpaste?!” Because personally I like this, and I’m stoked there are two tubes. I’ve just finished a small tube of Colgate Optic White, and I liked it. I’m back on Close-up now, but I’m thinking of going back to this particular toothpaste since I could tell that after every brush my teeth looked whiter. So, I believe you, Solenn. I believe you.

05

2. Garnier Skin Naturals Light Complete Whitespeed Multi-Action Brightening Scrub. 50ml / P84.

Try saying Garnier Skin Naturals Light Complete Whitespeed Multi-Action Brightening Scrub ten times fast.

Yeah, me neither.

I’ve wanted to try Garnier products for a long time, but I’m not sure why I haven’t yet. I think I should have bought a few products earlier when I was still cool with using whitening products, but now when I see “whitening” on the packaging I tend to put the item down and move on. I like my skin color the way it is, even though I could use a bit of color correction here and there. Looking too white freaks me out.

But I’m happy this is a scrub because exfoliating is fun. I grew up  scrubbing my face really hard to supposedly clean it really well, and I’ve conditioned myself to find that enjoyable, but I’m trying to be more gentle now. I look forward to exfoliating once a week because that’s the time I really feel like my skin is getting cleaned and stripped of dirt. Oh, and this scrub has really, really tiny beads for those who don’t like the texture of coarse exfoliants.

06

3. Garnier Skin Naturals Light Complete Whitespeed Multi-Action Whitening Serum Cream with SPF 19/PA+++. 50ml / P265.

Garnier has really long-ass names for its products.

As the packaging tells us, this is a serum cream. I don’t think I’ve encountered anything like it before. I understand it to be a cream that has serum in it. Normally skin care brands market creams and serums differently. Serums are similar to essences, and you use them after your toner but before your moisturizer; they’re like moisturizer boosters. And creams come after the moisturizer, typically used before you go to bed to let the product work for you while you sleep. If this Garnier cream is what I understand it to be, I’m guessing I can eliminate one step from my daily skin care routine if I use this. So, efficiency!

07

4. Cetaphil Daily Advance Moisturizing Lotion. 85g / P675.

Getting travel-sized products or samples is one of the things I love about the BDJ box. I travel overseas at least once every year, and I get a little flustered thinking how I’m going to pack seven bottles of cleansing product when I can barely fit my shoes in my bag. Because I overpack. If I can pack my room, my bathroom, my cat, my books, and an entire aisle of snacks in my bag, I would. So, thank you, BDJ, for these small, lovely items.

08

5. FS Powder Blush. 6.2g / P350.

The shade I got is called “Warm Chiffon,” and it’s a medium tan color, very close to my skin tone. I’m not a big blush lover. I have one lip and cheek cream thing from Skinfood and a pink blush from elf, and that’s it. I’m pleased this came in the color it did because it saves me the trouble of buying the Tony Moly Crystal Blusher in #5 Sugar Brown, which I was going to use as a bronzer.

But wait. Do I need a bronzer? Are bronzers only for white people? I’m pretty sure I can use a bronzer. I can contour my boobs! Yes, boob contouring. Oh, the new and exciting possibilities makeup offers.

09

6. Nivea 3in1 Exfoliating Wipes. 20 sheets / P140.

I don’t know about you, but I need me some wipes. When I fly, I don’t put a lot of makeup on. I just want to feel relaxed on the flight because flying is quite stressful. It feels draining no matter how many times I’ve done it. I’m going to use these wipes to just give my face, neck, and arms a good rubdown so when I step off the flight, I’ll feel a little refreshed. Sounds like a plan, no?

10

7. Dermal Masks. 3 sheets / P70 each.

Yay, masks! I use masks once a week now. I really like the ones from Beyond. Masks are great if you just want a little pick-me-up in the middle of the week. I leave my door open when I have one on and just stare at people as they walk by my room. Like, “Ate, wtf do you have on your face?” Silence. “O…kay.”

11 8. Aloe Derma Pure Aloe Vera Gel. 45g / P280.

I love aloe vera. Anyone who loves moisturizing loves aloe vera. I could set up a club, and we can all talk about how aloe vera is just the shit, the bomb, the bomb diggity. I’m going to start an aloe vera farm. That might be my calling.

I’m going to keep this one in my cabinet for a while because I’ve barely used my tub of Nature Republic aloe vera gel, but my heart is calm because I know I’ll always have aloe vera within reach. Aloe vera gives me life.

12

9. Kracie Pure Savon Rose Blend Scent & Classic Floral White / Lily Scent. 300ml / P545 each.

I’ve been seeing this brand a lot on local beauty blogs lately. A lot of people are trying out the Kracie liquid moisturizer, and I want to try that too because I’ve never seen anything like it. Moisturizers always come in creams and lotions, but I’ve never ran into one that feels like water. So, that’s on my radar.

Regarding the Pure Savon body wash, I’m just glad it’s another sample-sized product, so I’m going to bring this with me on my trips to the beach this year.

10. Kracie Himawari Dear Beaute Oil in Shampoo and Conditioner. 500ml / P695 each.

I’m not adventurous when it comes to shampoo. To be honest, I only stick to anti-dandruff ones because my scalp is a finicky child. I tend to go for ones that really nourish my scalp rather than my hair because I’ve never colored or treated it in any way. But I’m still going to use the Kracie Himawari samples, again, when I travel because sachets are incredibly convenient.

13

11. Cure Natural Aqua Gel. 250ml / P1,500.

Like Kracie, Cure is a Japanese brand I’m seeing a lot of these days. Now that I’ve sufficiently purged my curiosity with Korean products, I’m setting my eyes on Japanese brands. The last time I went to Japan, I just bought snacks. And KitKat. Lots of KitKat. The next time I go, I’ll pass by beauty drugstores and department stores to see what kind of Japanese products are good to buy, especially skin care items. But Cure seems like an expensive brand. A 250ml bottle of this gel is as expensive as Bioderma, but this price might just be the price here in the Philippines. Maybe. Hoping it is. I’m glad I have four samples of this stuff. I think that’s enough to develop a well-informed opinion about it. Yay.

And that’s it for this month’s BDJ box. Total retail value, not counting the samples, is P1,559, nearly twice the amount I paid for, so it’s still a good deal. I can’t wait for my last BDJ box to arrive next month and see if I’ll sign myself up for another three. If you want to try these boxes too, here’s the link. Enjoy. Eat some cheese.

4 thoughts on “BDJ Box: May 2015

  1. Demi May 30, 2015 / 10:17 PM

    Hi! Just wanted to say that I love your blog. So humorous, haha. And we have the same interests, I got into cosmetics just recently too. So jelly of your Korean haul! I’ll also be bookmarking your Japan trip for when I have enough money to go #poorkidproblems. So, yeah… I’m awkward and I don’t have anything else to say. Continue blogging! ❤

    • kaygemzon May 31, 2015 / 10:34 AM

      Thanks, Demi! Man, I gotta finish those Japan entries. #lazykidproblems

      Korean skin care is A+. Beauty is so fun, no? I wonder if I can add beauty as a skill on LinkedIn. Haha.

  2. Gen TM May 31, 2015 / 12:56 AM

    I love your sense of humor! I missed this month’s box but that’s okay as I already got quite a few products in stash in the dental and skin care department. What I would like to receive more of, kung pwede lang sana, is more makeup which is the main reason why I subscribed to BDJ boxes. Yun nga lang, I understand naman, not all boxes will have makeup. Hit and miss nga. I hope next month and July’s are makeup exclusive.

    • kaygemzon May 31, 2015 / 10:44 AM

      Hi, Gen! Thanks! Keepin’ it real up in hurrr. And great minds think alike: I’m with you on more makeup, yasss. That’s why I signed up for BDJ, too! I was hoping to get something like the Benefit- or Covergirl-exclusive boxes. #boxgoals

      I’m thinking it might depend sa month our subscription falls on? Since summer ngayon, there’s a lot of skin care items? But idk. I feel like the Christmas box might be special. Let’s get the Christmas box. ❤

Leave a Reply

