Beauty Empties 1

Here’s a list of products I used up last year. Some of them I liked, some of them not so much. All of them are affordable and accessible since I rarely buy high-end products. I am also too lazy to do individual reviews, so I hope you don’t mind this bunch o’ lunch.

01

Let’s start with… *nuninuninu*

1. Biore Cleansing Oil Cotton Facial Sheets

02

Cleansing wipes are super useful if you want to remove your makeup, clean your face, or refresh your skin while you’re on the go. I’ve tried the Simple cleansing wipes, the Nivea ones, and Kleenex, but the Biore facial sheets knock all of them out of the park. Each sheet is drenched in cleansing solution (20% more, they claim), which makes makeup removal so easy. With the other brands, I had to pull and rub my skin really hard to remove my makeup because the sheets felt quite dry – but not with Biore. I run to the store whenever I run out of this stuff. Seriously, just go. Get yourself a pack. Go. Biore is the beeest.

2. Innisfree Olive Real Cleansing Oil

05

This cleansing oil is thicker compared to my current favourite, THEFACESHOP Rice Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil. It’s like you’re really using olive oil to clean your face. Even though I didn’t completely enjoy the consistency, it did manage to clean my face very well. It softened all the hard, crusty bits (TMI?) and pulled out most of the impurities. Refreshing!

However, it did start to smell a little weird when it was almost out. I don’t know why. I got this is in April and finished it around December, way before its expected expiration. I gots no answers for ya.

3. Bioderma Sensibio H2O

03

The hype is real. It’s a very good makeup remover. I even used it sometimes to clean my brushes. It did break me out, though, when I tried using it everyday, with or without makeup. After that I just used it solely as a makeup remover.

The only downside is it’s expen$ive. This 250ml bottle is around P1,000. Girlll.

4. The Saem Healing Tea Garden Tea Tree Cleansing Water

04

But good news: I found an alternative! And for a fraction of the price. The Saem’s Healing Tea Garden Cleansing Water is one of their bestsellers, I believe. I picked this up when I went to Seoul. It comes in green tea and tea tree variants. It’s available on Althea! I chose tea tree because of my acne-prone skin. It’s pretty much on the same level as Bioderma, but it only costs around P300 (KRW6,000). Yaaasss.

The Saem isn’t readily available in the Philippines yet, but other brands like Biore and Happy Skin are coming out with their own cleansing waters. Yay for local options.

5. Safeguard Derma Sense Facial Cleanser (for acne-prone skin)

06

It had been years since I used anything from Safeguard. It just become one of those old school brands. Yknow, the ones you used when your mother still bought your skincare stuff.

Safeguard recently came out with a new line for sensitive and acne-prone skin called Derma Sense, and I’m honestly floored. I’m on my third bottle of this facial cleanser. If you ain’t got money to burn for Cetaphil, this cleanser (and the entire Derma Sense line) is for you. It doesn’t foam up much, but I love how gentle and effective it is in cleaning my skin and warding off the pimples.

THIS IS A CETAPHIL ALTERNATIVE. I repeat. THIS IS A CETAPHIL ALTERNATIVE.

6. Human Nature Balancing Facial Wash

07

A list I make won’t be complete without at least one Human Nature product. It took me a year to finish the HN Balancing Facial Wash for oily and combination skin. Not because it wasn’t good (it’s good), but because I opened so many other facial washes in my quest to find a miracle product that can make acne disappear overnight. I finished half the bottle before I got distracted by other things. (Quest is still ongoing.)

When I was cleaning out my bathroom shelves last Christmas and found this still in the same spot I left it in June, I decided to just use whatever was left as a body wash (a trick I learned from Morgan, one of my favorite beauty vloggers). It contains beads, so it doubled as an exfoliator, and it smelled delightfully citrusy. This goes very well with the HN Balancing Face Toner, my favorite (see below). I don’t have any cons to report about this product. I’d definitely repurchase it again.

7. St. Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub

08

I am so late to the St. Ives Appreciation Party, but better late than never! I started with this small tube, and I just recently moved up to the tub because I love this scrub a lot. When I discovered I could use it daily, I loved it even more. I use it on my face and my body. I think it does a great job of stripping away dirt and dead skin that can clog my pores and cause acne. My skin feels so smooth and clean right after.

The beads are huge, though, so I have to massage this on my skin gently. I’m also not sure if this scrub is okay for the environment because of said beads. Sorry, Obama. Sorry, environment!

8. Human Nature Balancing Face Toner

09

On my fourth bottle. This toner is so gentle. It never stings. It’s my favourite. My peyborit!

9. Aloe Derma Pure Aloe Vera Gel

10

This came in one of the BDJ Boxes last year. I’d rate it a 5/10. It’s okay as a spot moisturiser, something you throw in your purse for emergencies. However, it has a strong artificial scent, and it really isn’t one of the better aloe vera gels. Meh.

10. Celeteque Acne Clearing Facial Moisturizer Gel

11

All the acne-clearing products, come to mama! I’ve been using Celeteque moisturisers for years, and I really love them. They’re lightweight, fragrance-free, and great for breakouts. I think this was my third tube. This is always going to be in my life.

11. Innisfree Green Tea Seed Cream

12

My Korea skincare loot is growing smaller, finally. I just have a few lotions and creams left, and I can move on to other brands or go back to my favorites. The Innisfree Green Tea Seed Cream was a good moisturizer. It was quite thick, so it was perfect for nighttime. And green tea products always smell nice.

12. Dove Deeply Nourishing (Nourishing?) Body Wash

13

The usual.

13. Nature Republic 92% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel

14

Now this is what I talk about when I talk about aloe vera gels. I finished two tubs of this last year, and I’m getting one as a freebie from Althea. Summer is almost here, and I can’t wait to bring this to the beach with me. It’s a wonderful all-around, non-sticky moisturizer. I tried using it to remove makeup, but that wasn’t very effective. Haha. But! I do use it everywhere else – on my face, on my body, as hair treatment, as a soothing lotion. This gel is everything.

14. Maybelline Great Lash Mascara, Eye of Horus Goddess Mascara, and Benefit They’re Real! Mascara

15

I finished three tubes last year! From top to bottom, we have the Maybelline Great Lash, the Eye of Horus Goddess Mascara, and the Benefit They’re Real! Mascara.

Mascara is my favourite makeup product. I always look for something that lengthens and doesn’t smudge on me because my eyelids are oil geysers. Out of the three, my favourite would have to be the Eye of Horus one. It smudged the least.

The Maybelline Great Lash is a good mascara for daily use, just something that enhances your lashes a little bit. Not to heavy on volume or lengthening, but it was so lightweight that I didn’t feel like I was wearing mascara. After a long day, my eyes tend to water and get irritated, prompting me to remove my makeup, but with the Great Lash mascara on, I didn’t have any problems.

The superstar of Benefit’s They’re Real! Mascara would have to be the wand. I probably won’t repurchase this again if we’re just considering the formula because there are cheaper alternatives out there that provide volume, lengthen, and hold curl just as well, if not better. But I kept the wand after I finished this tube. I like that it’s made of plastic because it makes separating lashes easier. There are also smaller bristles at the tip to coat the shorter eyelashes on the inner and outer corners of the eye.

15. Human Nature Natural Feminine Wash (Chamomile Cool) and L’Occitane Verbena Shower Gel 

No individual photos because one is just a sample, and the other one is my vagina soap, lol.


Do you have empties that you love?

4 thoughts on “Beauty Empties 1

    • kaygemzon February 22, 2016 / 11:09 AM

      Thanks, Amel!

  1. ladyd1ana February 22, 2016 / 12:10 AM

    That Nature Republic aloe vera gel is life. I’ve had one for almost a year now. It’s amazing in the summer when you store it in the fridge 😀
    https://cybabe.wordpress.com/

    • kaygemzon February 22, 2016 / 11:09 AM

      Omg, yes. Chilled and goopy, it is life.

Leave a Reply

