30 Before 30: A Rough Outline

I’ll be turning 30 in four years. And I just wanted to think about all the things I wanted to do before I turn 30. That’s it, pancit. (This is also me avoiding so much blog backlog, I can’t even.)

It has been four years since I graduated from university, wow. I’m on my second job right now, in a sector I want to stay in for the rest of my life, also considering graduate school, investing, and just generally getting better at being an adult – which means fully committing to #StopBuyingShit2k16 and eventually #StopBuyingShitPeriod.

I’m used to the sound of deadlines swooshing by, so I probably won’t accomplish every goal on this list by the time I turn 30, but it’s always good to have some semblance of a plan, right? Right.

So, here’s an outline of things I’ve always wanted to do and things I just thought of right now before I turn 30, in no particular order.

  1. Travel alone.
  2. Eat the best of something in the world once (even though I’ll poop it out eventually).
  3. Write a book (or a lot of little bits that can be smushed together to form a book).
  4. Get published.
  5. Go vegetarian for a month.
  6. Learn a new language – or a dialect!
  7. Start a social enterprise.
  8. Read the entire Bible (I’m not religious, but I think this is important).
  9. Grow tomatoes.
  10. Organize a Christmas food kitchen.
  11. Then do something more sustainable and long-term.
  12. Tutor public school kids in my community.
  13. Grant the wishes of lolos and lolas in a nursing home.
  14. Take my parents on an all-expenses-paid trip.
  15. Climb a mountain.
  16. Build or rehabilitate a public school library in a remote area.
  17. Document 365 consecutive days of my life in photos (a visual journal).
  18. Master my DSLR (I stopped at trying to understand aperture and winged it from there).
  19. Get better at Illustrator.
  20. And After Effects.
  21. And Final Cut.
  22. Learn how to code!
  23. Watch one film a day for an entire year (I’ve attempted this several times already).
  24. Spend a day at an elephant conservation center.
  25. Donate blood.
  26. Get a tattoo.
  27. Get a Master’s degree.
  28. Machu Picchu!
  29. Take a few muay thai or Krav Maga classes.
  30. Make a full-length film using my phone camera.

The ones that didn’t make the cut:

  1. Find a foundation shade that matches my skin tone.
  2. Shave my head.
  3. Have a very, very specific Starbucks order.
  4. Make my own cheese.
  5. And butter.
  6. Audition for Pinoy Big Brother.
  7. Run for public office.
  8. Become an Uber driver on the side.
  9. Become a Munchkin cat.

What are your 30 before 30 goals?

4 thoughts on “30 Before 30: A Rough Outline

  1. thebooklander May 1, 2016 / 10:22 AM

    OMG Kay! The first line of this post made me panic. And I really mean PANIC. We’ll be turning 30 in 4 years, I can’t even grasp the idea in my head! Huhu.I feel like I’m only 18!

    -Kat

    • kaygemzon May 1, 2016 / 10:53 PM

      Kaloka, no? Medyo mode na ako. Haha. But I like to think we have a bit of time pa. Hihi.

      Omg, Kat, your blog is A+. Ang ganda!

      • thebooklander June 1, 2016 / 4:50 PM

        Aww, thank you! 🙈 Haha. The secret life. 😂

  2. lles October 31, 2016 / 6:19 PM

    Please tell me how to grow tomatoes! and I can help with a couple of these 😀 Let me know when you get that tattoo ❤

Leave a Reply

